Welcome to Otorhinolaryngology UM2
Professor May Khin Thein
M.B.,B.S, M.Med.Sc (E.N.T)
F.R.C.S.Ed (ORL)
Professor and Head


History of Our Department

The Otorhinolaryngology Department of the University of Medicine-2, Yangon was first established in 2002 by Professor Thein Tun who was the Professor and Head of the department at the time. He started to set up the out-patient clinic and actively involved in undergraduate teaching of otorhinolaryngology to Final Part I students.       In 2004, Prof Kyi Maung was posted as the Head of the department and served until 2007. During his days, he extended the clinical services as not only the out-patients, but also the in-patients ward and performed operations. The undergraduate teaching was also upgraded by the use of computer, multimedia projector and also assisted by the ENT consultants from affiliated hospitals of UM-2, Dr. Aung Hein followed by Dr. Thidar Shwe from Insein Hospital and Dr. Khin Khin Phyu followed by AP Dr. May Khin Thein from Thingangyun Sanpya Hospital.In 2005, the first batch of M.Med.Sc (ORL) has been started with 4candidates, Dr. Yin Yin, Dr.Cho War Aung, Dr.Kyaw Htet Win and Dr.Hnin Phyu who have finished their master degree in 2008.After the retirement of Prof Kyi Maung in December 2007, Associate Professor Dr. Saw Aung Hla Win took over the department and worked until 2008. He also actively led the clinical and academic activities.fter the retirement of AP Saw Aung Hla Win in 2008, the activities of the department went down, due to the lack of the head of department. The four doctors who finished their Master degree of ORL from UM-2 continued to run the outpatient clinic and under graduate teaching under the supervision of professor of ORL, UM-1 until 2011.In 2011, the department was revived by the reinforcement of man-power which included Associate Professor Phone Myint Tun and 3 AssistantLecturers, Dr. KK Tin Win, Dr.Yin Yin and Dr.Nyan Win. There were more both in and out patients, who were offered up-to-date treatments, likes videoscopy and audiometric apparatus.In February 2013, AP May Khin Thein was transferred from Thingangyun Hospital to UM-2 as Professor/Head and Dr. Cho War Aung also joined as Lecturer/Consultant, Dr. KK Tin Win moved to um-1as a lecturer and Dr. Yin Yin was also promoted as the lecturer. Therefore, second batch of M.Med.Sc (ORL) course was reopened in December 2012 at which 4 candidates attended and completed the course in April 2015. Dr. Aung Htet Htun, Dr. Myo Min, Dr. Si Thu Naing and Dr. Ngu War San have obtained their Master degree in April 2015. Since then, M.Med.Sc (ORL) course has been continued every year. There are 2 candidates Dr. Thiri and Dr. Hnin Le`Wai in 2014 when 3 year course has been started and seven candidates joined in 2015.Dr.Med.Sc (ORL) course has been started in January, 2014 and 2 candidates Dr. Thet Tin and Dr. Mu Mu Myint are attending their second year of the course.Therefore, postgraduate courses of M.Med.Sc (ORL) and Dr.Med.Sc (ORL) are well established now and students are actively involved in their studies and research projects for the post graduate degrees.     The current activities of the department include teaching of the final PartII students in groups of about 70 students in each group visiting ORL department for 2 weeks and conduct a test of the end of period. The department also takes responsibility of teaching ORL topics for family medicine diploma, SAMA refresher course and other post-grade courses like M.Med.Sc dental surgeon and Paediatrics.



Recent News

Total : 0

Recent Annouancements

Total : 0

Recent Blogs and Articles

Total : 0